Brits are the new Americans

Back in the day, the loudest and most annoying people you bumped into while travelling (or as visitors to your home town) were Americans. People with copious amounts of self-confidence, who felt like they owned the place and acted accordingly. Loud people, loud in sound and loud in action. People who, despite their wealth allowing them to travel widely, were largely ignorant of and certainly not too interested in, the places they were visiting. People who seemed to think that everyone should speak their language and that they should be able to find most of their ‘home comforts’ in whatever place they found themselves. People who used copious amounts of ‘hand sanitizer’ because the world outside of the USA was dirty, diseased and not to be trusted. People who often behaved in a ‘bigger’ way than the truth of the situation in their home country justified, people on the crest of a dubious wave.

Would it be fair to say that today, it is the Brits who wear this crown?

Failing that – you can try a restaurant and show review on my personal blog. :)

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Brits are the new Americans

  1. tozznok says:

    I’m not sure if we “wear the crown” as such. I’m sure it’s not just us and the Americans who have to put up with sharing our country with people like this. I certainly never take it for granted that the things I can get at home, I will also be able to obtain abroad; that’s the whole point of leaving Britain. Any of us who do act like this, are people who I would take instant dislike to even in Britain, and are really not worth bothering about.

    Could you explain what the following means, by the way? ‘People who often behaved in a ‘bigger’ way than the truth of the situation in their home country justified, people on the crest of a dubious wave.’

  2. Iza says:

    When I lived in Krakow the most annoying tour group was the British stag party. Very loud and obnoxious. Especially when compared to the large groups of Norwegians who were very polite and quiet and spoke Norwegian most of the time. I didn’t see many American tourists. If they were American, chances are they were Polish-American and blended in pretty well.

  3. Mirkurij says:

    I’d have to say it was Scots when I was lived in Krakow in summer of 2006. I was a little disappointed that they took the crown from us Americans. I did my fair share, but I guess I blended in as a Polish American.

  4. scatts says:

    tozznok, granted, Brits are often more adventurous abroad, although, I have seen rather a lot of English newspapers, English breakfasts, English beer and English football on the TV in foreign parts. Places that are not only visited by Brits.

    Hard to explain that last para. Best I can get is that American loudness seems related to the strength of the dollar and that in turn is related to economy and generally how well their country is doing. Not many Americans around now – surprise surprise! The GBP is doing better, but still not great compared to the PLN, and I think there are other issues slowly chipping away at the soul of the UK that make any loudness a little hollow.

    Like I said, hard to explain. ;)

  5. Marek says:

    Hmmm I agree upto a point.

    Whereas the Americans acted as the king of tourists simply because their dollar talked the loudest, Brits act like they own the place simply because they are British.

Leave a Reply

