What's That Sound? #1

With the success of earlier caption competitions, Polandian is branching out into other competition formats, beginning this week with a music-related competition. Below you’ll find some of the lyrics of 3 songs – but to ‘mix it up’ they have been put into an online translator and translated into some languages (including Polish, of course) and then returned to English, with hilariously difficult-to-understand results.

The first one should be fairly easy, the second a little tougher, and the final one will be most difficult. There will also be some pictures which may give a hint as to the song or singer/band. No doubt our musically keen readers will guess most of these fairly easily, but maybe you’ll have a laugh in seeing how the translations work out. For now, each of these songs is a song sung in English, but further competitions will include songs in Polish and other languages.

Update: With this round proving difficult, I’ve added in a second clue for each song.

Song 1:

“Now the rain was still with my umbrella, stick to stir”

WTS1-1

Clue Number 2

Rihanna

Song 2:

“My drive is killing me, I know I still believe that I have lost my head.

Give me a sign. Once again, I guess children”

WTS1-2

Clue Number 2

crocker


Song 3:

“Us this morning, oh, easy, but I think the formula. Mm-mm-mm-mm-mm-mm-mm”

WTS1-3

Clue Number 2

beatles-yesterday

The correct answers are: firstly, Rihanna with ‘Umbrella’, followed  by Britney Spears and ‘Hit Me Baby One More Time’ and finally, the Beatles with ‘Yesterday’

Thanks for participating…

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “What's That Sound? #1

  1. scatts says:

    Easy!

    1 – “The Rain Song” – Led Zep

    2 – “Dazed & Confused” – Led Zep

    3 – “Communication Breakdown” – Led Zep

    Having said that, I’m sure I recognise those lyrics from the Beatles double white album.

  2. Decoy says:

    I like Led Zep as much as the next man, but nope – none of them are by Led Zeppelin this time around.

    I’ll give a few more clues tomorrow, if it seems too difficult…

    P.S. Here’s an early clue, you touched on the band for the third one in your above guess

  3. island1 says:

    It seems the musical knowledge of Polandian readers (and contributors) has been found wanting.

  4. Bartek says:

    1. Rihanna Umbrella?

    2. I don’t know, but the picture has cleared up my understanding of English idiom “to have a face like a back of a bus”

    3. It doesn’t sound like “Yesterday”, is it a long play or a single?

  5. Ludwik says:

    1 – Umbrella by Rihanna

    2 – Hit me baby one more time by Britney Spears
    That is definitely her train-wreck expression

    3 – Yesterday by The Beatles ??? (only because of the “mmmmmmmmmm”)

  6. pinolona says:

    no 1 Rihanna, surely no 2 is Britney?!

  7. pinolona says:

    Umbrella and Baby one more time I mean

  8. scatts says:

    Okay I’ll have another go:

    1/ “I’m crap” – Lady Gaga
    2/ “We were worse though” – Ich Troje
    3/ “But we’re the ugliest!” – Budka Suflera

    I may not be making best use of the clues.

  9. Jeannie says:

    1. Rihanna – Umbrella
    2. Britany Spears – Hit Me Baby One More Time
    3. The Beatles – Here Comes the Sun

  10. Decoy says:

    Correct! Well done. I suppose the second clues helped a little

  11. island1 says:

    Who is this ‘Britany Spears’ person I keep hearing about?

  12. Jeannie says:

    I mean Britney, not Britany.

    So it’s not Britney? or …?

    We thought it was cos it’s that guy who was in love with her on the video. If not, maybe we need another clue :-D.

  13. scatts says:

    How about an answer from the poster?

    Decoy – are you there?

  14. Decoy says:

    Sorry Ian,

    I had included the answers in a revised version of the post, but for posterity, I’ll add them here too.

    The correct answers are:
    1st: Rihanna with ‘Umbrella’,
    2nd: Britney Spears and ‘Hit Me Baby One More Time’
    3rd: The Beatles with ‘Yesterday’

Leave a Reply

