In Poland, time has no value.

After all these years I finally worked it out! The problem with the urząds, the sometimes poor customer service, the workmen who don’t turn up, the whole thing. The answer to life the universe and everything is not “42”, it is that in Poland your personal time is worthless. There is no other conclusion that manages to tie up so many loose ends in such a perfect way. Once you realise that you are unimportant and therefore your time is utterly insignificant, everything makes sense.

I came to this tardy conclusion courtesy of a salesman in the Sony shop in Arkadia. As some will know, I like cameras and so it was rather silly of me to catch up with latest reviews at dpreview.com, one of my fave camera review sites, because that is the road to temptation and hell. Sure enough, as I browsed the “review by rating” section my eyes were naturally drawn to those in the Gold Award section and like a moth to the flame I settled on the entry right at the top called ‘Sony SLT-A55’. I was one click away from disaster but just like that Nazi in Raiders of the Lost Arc I couldn’t resist – “It’s beautiful…….”. The review, now read three times in some detail, goes on to spin a tale of a camera like no other. A camera that is nothing less than ground-breaking, pivotal and destined to go down in history as one of the greats! I think they might be right and given that all this comes at a reasonable (ish) price I needed to get one in a slightly impulsive kind of way. After a failed attempt at one Sony shop, camera not in the country yet (as usual), I found myself a few days later in Arkadia and visited the shop there. The salesman was very helpful and told me they did indeed have them in stock now and I could buy one, no problem. We worked out the deal for a body and a better lens than the kit one plus memory card and so on. There was a problem though, their “system” could not recognise the camera and so I couldn’t buy one after all. I asked when I could buy one and he said “Tomorrow”. I told him I’d be there mid morning, gave him my business card and left.

Mid morning the following day I managed to squeeze out of the office and go to Arkadia to buy the thing. The minute he saw me I knew what was coming – “There’s a problem!”, he said. “Oh, yes?”, said I “and what might that be?”. “The system still doesn’t work with this camera…..blah blah”. He was genuinely sorry about this, admitted it was their mistake and suggested a better discount than we’d already agreed would be forthcoming as and when I could actually buy the thing. The question that had him flummoxed though was – “So why couldn’t you call me this morning and tell me that, rather me wasting an hour coming out here for nothing?”. Amongst all the other things he was thinking, the idea that I would consider this a waste of my (genuinely precious at the moment) time and that this would annoy me more than not being able to buy the camera had never entered his head.

Who cares?!

Rather a long diversion there but the whole episode did strike a chord with me. Even the Sony guy, a reasonably good salesman by Polish standards, couldn’t give a flying hoot about how much of my time he might be wasting. The urząd’s opening hours prove that the government don’t care how much working time I waste. The meldunek office that requires three hour-long visits to do something that could be done on-line in ten seconds – really couldn’t care less. The myriad of people who just don’t turn up or turn up way past the appointed hour – they don’t care either. The people drobny-fishing in the shops or buying newspapers with dodgy credit cards – they don’t care. The drivers who when faced with an obstacle just sit there rather than going round it and the ones who spend hours deciding whether green means go and all those people who block the junctions – they certainly don’t care. Lets face it, in this country nobody bloody cares about my time. What is more frustrating is that nobody even seems to grasp the basic idea that my time has a value, not only a value to me but also to others in fact and until that basic value is understood people will continue to waste my time because to them it is nothing, just my time and I’ve obviously got plenty of it to spread around.

I have to assume that if they fail to recognise the value of my time then they have no concept of the value of their own time either, that if someone wastes their time they don’t get upset, don’t give it a second thought? Do they perhaps have no concept of the value of time altogether? Time is obviously not money to them, not by a long way. Poles would never waste money, come to that they wouldn’t waste food, or clothes or almost everything else – so why waste time in such a nonchalant way? Do they think it is never-ending, that we”ll all live forever so time becomes something to throw away lightly?

But then I come to thinking – if they think time is so worthless, why do they always need to push in front of you in the queue? I thought this was just because they wanted to save their time and waste yours but perhaps not. Given this new theory of time, the queue-pushing must be more to do with the innate desire to screw-thy-neighbour or to stop me from buying the last packet of Coldrex Maxi-Grip in the whole of Poland before they do. Similarly, the stupidly fast driving is more to do with the I’ve-got-a-big-dick syndrome than anything to do with getting somewhere faster and saving time. Look at how long it is taking the country to build roads, improve hospitals and the thousand other things that still need doing 20 years after the exit of the Soviets – is this all part of the same syndrome, is it a national disease this laissez-faire, manjana, laid-back attitude. It’ll get done one day so what’s the rush?

I admit I have a keen sense of the worth of my own time, perhaps slightly higher than average but I’m by no means a fanatic on this issue and I’ve met plenty of people who are far worse than me. The more I think about this, the more sense it makes. In Poland, time is cheap.

What do you think? Am I talking a load of nonsense or if not, why do people have this attitude here? Is it in the blood, is it cultural, conditioning, what is it and is it ever going to change?

PS – if anyone is interested in buying a whole lotta Nikon gear or a Canon G9, let me know before you see it on Allegro!

Tagged

55 thoughts on “In Poland, time has no value.

  1. I completely sympathize. I and my wife have had this same conversation, more or less, many times. I usually value my time at my typical hourly paid rate at my 40-hour-a-week job, plus 50%. So if someone is late or whatever, that’s where I start my “gimme a discount for being jackasses to me” negotiations.

    IMO, people here just don’t think of their time as having value and they are so used to everyone else thinking the same thing. Thus the indifferent, slow or absent service.

    I don’t know what the fix is for this. A collective increase in self-esteem?

    I would say “get in some foreign firms that KNOW how to do things” …But there are loads of foreign companies here that do things “on Polish time” so having well-established foreign firms here hasn’t done us any good, either.

    Personally, for those of us who care about such things, it’s a matter of finding the good companies and telling the rest of them to go an’ get stuffed.

  2. polkaontheisland says:

    Sorry you got angry, Scatts. Those little things are much more annoying abroad than home.

    The drivers who when faced with an obstacle just sit there rather than going round it – this gets me here in Midlands as well. Or the pastime walkers who have to pause in the middle of the shop alley, or the ones who back down without looking and bump into me.

    The worst offenders so far were Jason Muir, who promised to deliver my leaflet campaign tomorrow, and for two weeks I’ve been calling him to get him to do it. I bet he finally just binned them; and Dave Scott, who took my order for vinyl lettering in August, and had even been here on Monday to confirm the work on Wednesday… still not here.

    Just do what everybody else does, blame it on racism, or crass peasants, and find another dealer.

  3. Pawel says:

    Bloody foreigners constantly whine about everything in Poland;) so you believe them – that everything in the UK must be wonderful…
    I’m in the UK now, and it’s more or less the same with customer service and office people like in Poland. To get something done, or to get somebody on minimum wage care is just impossible. And bloody appointments everywhere – in a bank, at urząd. At least in Poland you don’t have to have an appointment in urząd, be happy with what you got! :))

  4. bob says:

    Well scatts – you finally hit the ‘time wall’ – that is a wall we all hit at some point being in Poland. The good news is that applied correctly it can be a cathartic thing.

    Having done business in Poland for 20 years, my whack against that wall happened a looooong time ago.

    With it always in mind I play it by over emphasizing (when possible) the importance of ‘showing up’, ‘being on time’, showing up, being on time and god forbid – being prepared. Sometimes my wife thinks I am being patronizing with people here but, guess what? They do come on time and are prepared whether it is the plumber, electrician, security company – we just need to continually train them – it does work but is maddening.

    Handing a business card (as you now know) without a long detailed explanation about why you are doing it and WHAT YOU EXPECT is only half the needed process to get the dots connected. Bring a small laser pointer and show him the phone number and describe what you want; and by the way tell him if he wastes your time you will come back and scorch him with said laser pointer!

    Government offices – a whole different ball game!

    Sounds like you need to have a beer, Michal and I will set up another meet very soon!

  5. bob says:

    By the way – please let me know what Nikon gear you want to get rid of. Bob

  6. Skoy says:

    You forgot to mention the great train system! Either the train will be late, and you will be standing there waiting for nobody knows how long, because there are no monitors showing the expected delays. In absence of said monitors, there often even isn’t any announcement on the speakers, and if there is any it will come as the train is already arriving in the station, usually brought by a robotic monotone voice that gives you the shivers.
    And let’s of course not forget the random schedule changes they are so fond of, without any clear information towards the travellers.

  7. odrzut says:

    Recently holy PKP introduced the possibility, that train can go out before the schedule says it should :)

    I sometimes think they do this on purpose – somebody waits when people will have enough, stop using PKP at all, and all great wealth of PKP will be sold at suspicious licitation.

    About time – good observation, the whole queue thing is relict from communism – time was even less valuable then, but being first in the line meant getting rare thing that so many people wanted.

  8. Name says:

    don`t think everyone here in the UK bothers to reply when left a voice mail, and it especially drives you mad when you want to know whether and when to proceed with things NOW. you have to phone them again and again of course to get an answer. also, nobody knows how many gardeners will actually show up when scheduled, and how pathethic their excuses are when you somehow catch them on the phone. it can take days for them to turn up, or mostly they won`t, but none of them will tell you this wasting your time completely. same with all others, unless they are desperate or you pay them 100 quid per hour. and don`t tell me they offer you fantastic discounts if something goes wrong because all you can hear is “sorry about that”, if only.

  9. Skibum says:

    I agree with a lot of what you say, but disagree that time has ‘NO’ value.

    My impressions are that Poles think their own time is far more important than the time of anyone else, and they can be as rude, ignorant or inconsiderate as they wish as a consequence.

  10. Grze$ko says:

    I can’t believe what you guys put yourselves through to bring some civilisation to our lazy, drunken and rude country. I salute you for the sacrifice. I assume you are not here voluntarily but, just think of the time when you CAN get back to your own wonderful country.
    I’ve heard a phrase “A whinging Pom”, I often wonder what exactly does that mean. Any help?

  11. Tony says:

    Grze$ko-

    If you ever get a job and start working for a living, you might understand Scatts’ frustration.

  12. island1 says:

    The replies to this post have taken a predictable turn. Obvious points, but I feel I should make them:

    1. It’s absurd to simply deny people’s experience of Poland. Speak to any foreigner living in Poland and they will recognize the phenomenon of seemingly needless and inconvenient delay and lack of consideration. Scatts has lived and worked in many countries and he’s been living here for more than a decade, he’s not just making this stuff up. The trouble is that any complaint is immediately interpreted as an attack on the honour of the nation, which it isn’t. Scatts actually likes Poland.

    2. The fact that you, I, or any other random person has negative experiences in the UK (or the US or Ireland—we’re not all Poms) is of absolutely no relevance. It’s not even an argument.

    Will this post miraculously solve what some of us see as a problem? No. Is it worth discussing these problems instead of just pretending they don’t exist? Yes.

  13. island1 says:

    What are you doing over there?

    Appointments are a good thing: it means everybody knows where they are supposed to be and when, rather than just hanging around on the off chance somebody might be able to help you.

  14. island1 says:

    Let’s keep it civilised chaps

  15. Grze$ko says:

    All fie and dendy however using blanket statements like “they always need to push in front of you in the queue” are hardly an invitation to a civilised conversation. They?Always?
    I do read the blog with a touch of a masochistic pleasure and mostly enjoy the read, I do however find it disturbing that the racial (or national) stereotyping seems to be the favourite topic. We simply MUST be drunk, possibly dirty, ALWAYS doing this or that. Saying “I like Poland, but…” sounds much like “I’m not racist but…” they always. And I tell you what guys – it can hurt.
    I agree that writing a blog about going to work and coming back is not the most exciting way one may spend their evening, but a constant barrage of stupid stereotypes gets a bit repetitive.

    And Tony, my employment situation is just fine, thank you. Just this year I worked in Australia, Poland, few weeks in Mongolia and currently I am working in China. It would not cross my mind to publicly vent my petty grievances by saying that those Mongolians, they always…
    Every country has its own flow and perception of time and personal space. My advice would be that if you don’t feel comfortable in a place move on, at the end it will make you bitter and unhappy.

  16. Tony says:

    “Currently I am working in China”

    Good for you, now go back to work and make me an iPod.

  17. Tony says:

    As a matter of fact, if you opened your ears and took a few minutes’ break from touting your completely unverifiable work achievements on the internet (seriously, we’re all so happy that you’ve devoted your extraordinary diplomatic and professional skills to telling strangers on the internet that they’re wrong) you might notice that the things Scatts mentions in the post are also irritating to the vast majority of Poles.

  18. Tony says:

    Although I’m sure Grze$ko would love to keep his fantasy that only foreigners have a problem with anything in Poland, it’s my experience that there’s an ever-growing number of (usually young, but not always) Poles who aren’t content to stick their heads in the sand and pretend that everything is peachy. Go to the website of any Polish newspaper and check out the forums and you’ll hear criticism of slow trains, bureaucratic idiocy, piss-poor customer service…in fact all of the things that Scatts refers to in his post. A lot of them are more harshly critical than any post on this site could ever be. The most intelligent Poles I know realize the need to do more than complain, and when I talk to them I know that conditions in Poland WILL improve and that it’s worth being here to see it happen.

  19. ‘Do they think it is never-ending, that we”ll all live forever so time becomes something to throw away lightly?’

    that’s actually true. we live in a kind of perpetuity, which Island1 has observed in the practice of exhumation. life becomes more worthy as it is seasoned with age – death seals the mead barrel, and from now on it becomes more and more priceless. this earthly larva is only worthy as long as it’s useful – if you care to observe our treatment of young people, you’ll see what I mean.

    my suggestion – ask your in-laws, have they bought their graves already. buy one for yourself and pre-organize the services. you’ll feel much different.

    and yes, PM me about the lenses pls, at your convenience.

  20. siudol says:

    Well, let me add my two cents to all this. Firstly, I`m Polish (I mention it because I think it`s relevant in this case) and not even for a second did it cross my mind, while reading Scatts` piece, that he stereotypes or whines about Poland. He makes an observation, and an accurate one for that matter. And although I don’t live in Poland now, I did before, and for long enough to agree with his observation. In fact, for what it’s worth, I find all the contributors to this blog balanced, objective and constructive (and often amusing). If I found them offensive I simply wouldn`t read it. There is a difference between being (constructively) critical and condescending, and sadly Grze$ko doesn’t seem to see it. In the 80s we so wanted to be open to the world and be part of Europe, and now that we finally are, some of my fellow-countrymen still can’t get this chip off their shoulder and keep getting in a huff about any criticism from a foreigner, especially when it`s true.

    I find using arguments like “you’re whining about our queue jumping, but how about the lazy builders in your own country” simply pathetic. This blog is about Poland. If I want to read about problems in the UK, I’ll read a blog about the UK, there is quite a few dedicated to UK-bashing.

    Scatts, Island and Decoy, great blog! Don`t get discouraged by “whinging Poles.”

  21. scatts says:

    Nothing more annoying than trains leaving BEFORE their appointed hour! That’s just plain nasty.

    I think you’re right on the queue thing. It does seem that people of a certain age form the bulk of the offenders but you’d think 20 years would be long enough to change an unnecessary habit. Amazing what years of conditioning can do.

  22. scatts says:

    Will do, Bob. I think you’ve already got better stuff than I have though!

  23. scatts says:

    Hi Pawel. Quite the international jet-setting bohemian these days!

  24. scatts says:

    You’re absolutely right about how the UK wastes people’s time on the telephone – far, far worse than Poland although companies like Cyfrowy Polsat and TPSA are up there with the worst of the Brits. I despair whenever I have to call a company in the UK, especially something like a bank. You know it’s going to take 3 attempts and the pressing of 38 buttons before you even get close to talking to someone who can help.

    Never really had experience with multiple gardeners over there but I can imagine there might be issues. In general the UK is short of just about every type of skilled worker – electricians, gardeners, carpenters….etc, so life becomes more complicated. It is also why so many Poles made a good living in the UK and were welcomed so warmly.

  25. scatts says:

    Don’t know how I do a “PM”? I think I’ll stick a list on my personal blog or on here if I can find the right place not to interfere with posts and then let anyone who’s interested contact me. I need to find all the stuff first!

  26. scatts says:

    siudol & others, thanks for the support.

    Grze$ko – I can believe you may well have come across plenty of “whinging poms”, especially if you have travelled as you say you have. We Brits are very good at stereotyping and complaining about local conditions, just as the Americans are and the French and the Germans and the Spanish…….there are plenty of them in Poland too.

    I must say that I find these people just as annoying, possibly more so, than you do but you are wrong to assume that I am in the same camp. Your comments about Poland being “uncivilised, lazy, rude, drunk” show more of your own hang-ups than they do of mine.

  27. siudol says:

    “go back to work and make me an iPod”.

    Hilarious! LOL. Good one Tony.

  28. Grze$ko says:

    Let’s just leave at that.
    You win, I lose. I can live with it.
    I was just pointing out the “ALL” and “ALWAYS” which are a simple way of recognising stereotyping.

    And Tony, I will make you an iPod.
    Maybe while I’m here I’ll make you some crap quality Tshirts too.
    After all that’s ALL you can expect from China.

  29. Grze$ko says:

    And bu the way, I did not say that the things you describe do not exist, I was just commenting on the overall tone of the post(s).

  30. scatts says:

    Nobody’s trying to win, or lose.

    You’re right, ALL and ALWAYS are not factually correct but they just sound a lot better than messing around with words like sometimes, often, quite a lot, from time to time, most of the time, frequently…………

  31. Kuba says:

    My impression is that those who are in jobs where there is no fear of losing it seem to take time to do most trivial jobs.
    Hurrying is not in there vocabulary.
    Lots of government workers have this feeling and tend to look down at you for asking them to hurry.

  32. […] – first impressions Posted on Monday, 11 October, 2010 by scatts As I mentioned elsewhere, I decided to change my camera ‘strategy’, to get myself the latest digital camera from […]

  33. I’m English, and have spent 15 years in Poland:

    “Every country has its own flow and perception of time and personal space. My advice would be that if you don’t feel comfortable in a place move on, at the end it will make you bitter and unhappy.”

    Agree absolutely.

  34. In that case, good on Jason and Dave.

    Rude, pushy and unpleasant people often get poor personal service, both in England and in Poland, and rightly so.

  35. island1 says:

    PM=personal message=email.

  36. Grze$ko says:

    Thank you. You seem to be the first person here who actually reads what I am trying to say.

  37. Grze$ko says:

    I know that time is of value to you (no pun intended here ;-) and wasting it looking for words is not on your agenda, however would you accept the following statement:
    “All British in Krakow are always dunk louts yelling in the streets and vomiting at Planty”?
    It’s faster that way, innit?
    ;-)

  38. scatts says:

    I won’t name your predecessors but you’re following their well worn path of assuming that if you stick enough smileys in there you can get away with snide insults.

    Yes, I’d be happy with a better written version of what you said because it is largely true as a perception of Brits in Krakow. And yes, it is faster.

  39. scatts says:

    That’s assuming anyone ever said they were “uncomfortable”, as opposed to simply making an observation.

  40. scatts says:

    And we, some of us, are just commenting on the overall tone of the comments.

  41. Grze$ko says:

    “Uncomfortable” is a long word. The tone of the post is enough. Maybe I’m misinterpreting, maybe it’s just the way all British are, happy and yet always bitter-sounding, dunno really.
    over and out

  42. Grze$ko says:

    So what’s your position on Tony’s aggression?
    Or is that perfectly acceptable as he agrees with your view?

  43. siudol says:

    Grze$ko,

    In one of your earlier posts you used the words “bitter and unhappy“, and that’s exactly what you strike me as.

    Why do you choose to nit-pick about semantics and the choice of words instead of focusing on the main theme of the piece? You seem to be unable to appreciate the
    fact that someone, who has chosen to live in your country, takes the time to share their observations with you. That can only broaden one’s horizons, wouldn’t you agree? It is not a comparative article about the attitudes in Poland and Britain, so why do you keep bringing up how the Brits behave in Krakow? How is that relevant? Maybe one day someone will write about that (perhaps already has) and then you can make your point about that topic. And, come on, you can’t deny clerks in offices can be infuriating – you did live in Poland at some stage, didn’t you? Or that some drivers drive like maniacs.

    All that would still be fine by me, but unfortunately when you decide to resort to cheap and sarcastic (bordering on insulting) remarks, you cross the line in my opinion.

  44. joanna says:

    That’s a point!

  45. Name says:

    Saying “they…always” isn’t an observation, it’s stereotyping. And lazy. So don’t be surprised when people react.

  46. Another Ewa says:

    Don’t get your knickers in a twist. He just pointed out that statements that say ‘they…always’ are stereotypical. Which is true. Fortunately some people still care about these things.

  47. siudol says:

    Don’t tell me that when you drive, for example, and someone cuts in in front of you, you don’t say/think “They always do that to me!” or when you lose a coin-toss three times in a row you won’t say “I always lose!”, even though you know it doesn’t ALWAYS happen to you or you do not always lose. You say “always” to emphasize your frustration and exasperation.

    Statements ‘they…always’ can indeed be stereotypical, but not in every situation. The article above uses them not to stereotype but to emphasize frustration and that’s what I’m trying to point out. The problem is that some people take things too literally and the second they see “always” THEY get their knickers in a twist about it.

  48. scatts says:

    His comments were aimed at you so it’s up to you to decide what you think about them. They didn’t strike me as being that agressive that “moderation” was in order. Jamie’s our hit-man anyway! :)

    Your comments on the other hand were aimed at me, or Polandian generally more to the point.

  49. scatts says:

    The post has 1,177 words and it uses the word “always” only once –

    “…if they think time is so worthless, why do they always need to push in front of you in the queue?”.

    More relevant is the use of the word ‘they’. It uses this word 13 times (excluding the Sony section). My use of the word is set-up in the 4th para, where it is used three times in clear reference to people whose specifically described behaviour I consider is wasting my time. For anyone who wants to read this without getting the red mist as soon as they see specific words, it really is quite clear that my target is very narrow, NOT every Pole on earth. It is, in fact, aimed equally at anyone indugling in time-wasting behaviour, not just Polish people but perhaps people are confusing the word Poland (used three times) with the word Poles (used once – primarily as a compliment!).

    I think it is therefore obvious for anyone with an open mind that the use of “they” in the text following the 4th para (which includes its only combination with the single use of ‘always’) would also be referring to time wasters as opposed to Poles.

    So, I don’t actually think there is any stereotyping going on at all – primarily because I’m not trying to justify or promote any widely held but ill-founded prejudices or ignorance of Polish people. If anything, I am displaying my prejudice toward certain behaviours that I believe are wasting my time without actually having done a scientific study to prove my case – because this is a blog post, not a thesis. These behaviours are observed in Poland, because that’s where I live and they are never compared to the behaviour of any other people in any other country.

    Come to think of it, the nearest we get to stereotyping around here is when others start bringing England or “whinging poms” into the discussion.

  50. Grze$ko says:

    “so why do you keep bringing up how the Brits behave in Krakow? How is that relevant?” Only to point out how stereotyping can be hurtful and should be avoided.

    I never said things that Scatts talks about do not exist, let’s get that over and done with – never.

    SCATTS>
    “Come to think of it, the nearest we get to stereotyping around here is when others start bringing England or “whinging poms” into the discussion.”

    Well done, a bit of spin and it’s me who’s stereotyping. Read my post again. It was used in a question.

  51. scatts says:

    And you’re complaining about spin?!

    Are questions like smileys then, a sort of cloak of invisibility?

  52. Grze$ko says:

    “…however would you accept the following statement:
    “All British in Krakow are always dunk louts yelling in the streets and vomiting at Planty”?”

    I don’t think there’s a smiley to express the smile I had when asking this.

    In my case they were not a “cloak of invisibility” or an attempt to cover up an “insult” as someone suggested.
    Next time I’ll refrain myself from smileys.

    Just to clarify:
    ““so why do you keep bringing up how the Brits behave in Krakow? How is that relevant?” Only to point out how stereotyping can be hurtful and should be avoided.”

  53. ThomasM says:

    I can very much feel Scatt’s pain about the lack of respect for people’s time in all sorts of offices and companies in Poland. The defensive knee-jerk reaction in some posts strikes me as a bit phony—I know for a fact that most Poles are just as annoyed by this, even though they may be have come to accept it as unchangeable. That’s why switching into some “my country right or wrong” mode as soon as a “foreigner” dares to make what actually is a perfectly common complaint among “natives” is a kind of weird, although psychologically interesting behaviour.

    Having said all that, I’m not so sure if the Sony episode is a good example of the problem. Yes, the sales guy *could* have called, but could Scatts really have *expected* him to? Perhaps in a small, specialist shop with an individual approach to each and every customer, but in a large mass-market place? Rather not. (I admit I don’t know the shop myself, but that’s the impression I get looking at the websites linked below.) That’s why I would have filed getting such a call under “outstanding service”, not something to be taken for granted. Even if the appointment had had a more binding character than Scatt’s description suggests (“I told him I’d be there mid morning, gave him my business card and left”), it would have been common sense to call them and make sure the camera was available before going there. Anyway, I suppose the Sony incident was really just the “straw that broke the camel’s back” for Scatts.

    http://www.arkadia.com.pl/?pageid=34&lang=pl&id=267
    http://www.sony.pl/hub/sonystyle#/?p=style

  54. scatts says:

    Thomas, I know it’s hard to judge this based on a string of text, you really need to have been there but yes, I think there was enough in what we said to each other to suggest that a call was expected. It is a big shop in a big centre but there weren’t that many people around and I think the conversation was personal enough to warrant a call.

    Agreed, I could have called but I wasn’t really left in much doubt that this was going to be sorted by the time I arrived. I think he was genuinely surprised himself that this wasn’t working out as fast as he thought. He knew there was a problem before I turned up and he was expecting me – 1+1=2.

  55. Ang says:

    If you want processed food to digest and be approved, there are countless approvals you’ll need. First, before the food gets to be acted on by enzymes, the administrator has to send a letter of consent to the acting manager who verifies that this food can be digested. it is then sent back to the administrator who then sends it to the manager of the enzymes for them to verify if they can act on this food. Anything unclear needs a 1-2 week verification.
    After that, the administrator waits like a sitting duck for the food to personally ask to be digested before speeding up the process which takes around a month. When that is over, the food will then have to go to the excretion department… and that’s a whole other ball game.-
    Polish Bureaucracy. it’s not just time that is at their disposal, but the chance to play with the time of others.

Leave a Reply

